Reviews

5 / 17 / 2015     Review on Amazon
5 stars
“I’ll confess, my initial interest in Wife and War was not due to hearing about how phenomenal a writer Amalia Flynn is, and trust me she is a phenomenal writer, nor was it from all the praise her book received. Nope, my initial interest was from the book being required reading for a college course that I was taking, though that quickly changed and I became quite engrossed in the poetry of her life. I generally do not read a lot of nonfiction that isn’t science related, and I definitely don’t read a lot of poetry in my spare time, but I can say with all honest that this book has made me reconsider my reading choices. Not only are Amalia Flynn’s poems well crafted but she weaves the threads of her experience watching the towers fall throughout the fabric of her experience as a soldier’s wife. It’s well written and can’t praise Amalia enough.”
5 / 17 / 2015     Review on Amazon
4 stars
“This was the one of the most emotionally driven books I think I have ever read. This book triggered grief within me and I was not even the one experiencing the hardships. Amalie Flynn bares her soul to us when she discusses the feelings that overcame her when her husband was deployed. I could relate to her in some aspects; having a cousin that was deployed in 2005. I could relate to her anxiety of never seeing her loved one again. She takes us on a journey. One that will allow the world to learn more about what life is like as a military wife whose husband goes off to war. This book was assigned to me as a reading for one of my college courses and I knew from the first few pages that I was going to fall in love with it. Fynn’s writing style was so precise it made me feel like I was right alongside her hoping to just disappear until her husband came back. Her diction and word choice made it so easy for me to cry at multiple points in the novel. It was so beautiful and I would recommend it to anyone. It is enchanting and captivating and even though some parts will really make you feel emotional you will not want to stop reading it”
2 / 21 / 2015     Review on Amazon 
5 stars
“This book is beautifully written. I couldn’t put it down. Amalie Flynn paints very vivid mental pictures with her prose. I’ve already bought another copy and gave it as a gift.”

2 / 13 / 2015     Review on Goodreads
5 stars
“Great book. Amalie’s writing is gorgeous.”

11 / 3 / 2014     The Waiting: ‘Stateside,’ ‘Wife and War,” and the Hale Koa
on Military Spouse Book Review
“Damn. If that isn’t how you write longing, I don’t know what is…”
Read the review in its entirety –

11 / 1 / 14  IAVA Lists Amalie Flynn Reading as Veteran Day’s Event

10 / 26 / 14  Excerpt on Words After War / Medium
10 / 12 / 14  Adrian Bonenberger on Goodreads
Adrian‘s review

Oct 21, 14
I’m biased. I was a soldier who went to Afghanistan, and wrote a memoir about the experience with special attention from my perspective to the people back home. Ms. Flynn wrote a memoir about her husband’s deployment to Afghanistan, with special attention to his experience overseas. Ms. Flynn observed – as in saw and felt – 9/11, which infused her entire experience of the Global War on Terror with horrible anxiety. She honors that horror effectively through Wife and War.Whether or not most soldiers will admit this, overseas a great deal of intellectual wattage was dedicated to the task of imagining what friends and loved ones were doing. Whether they were thinking about you, the trials and challenges they encountered, what the air smelled like, the particulars of their meals and everyday routines. Reading Ms. Flynn’s memoir – written, sparingly and powerfully in poetical fashion, with attention to each word and its likely impact – is simultaneously rewarding and challenging. It took me a great deal longer than it should have to finish the book, but not because I’m a slow reader, or because I don’t enjoy Ms. Flynn’s writing – the passages were heavy, it was hard to move through them quickly, or absorb them. There was too much there to process, too much to remember.So I encourage anyone and everyone with a passing interest in what it’s like to go through a deployment to buy and read this book. If you’re a soldier, or a soldier’s spouse, or you think you might be a soldier’s spouse, read this account of war. It’s as true an accounting as I’ve encountered.
10 / 2 / 14  “These Almost-Widows”: Amalie Flynn’s Wife and War by Suzanne Schroeder
9 / 28 / 14 Terri Barnes on Goodreads
Terri Barnes rated it 4 out of 5 stars
7 / 7 / 14 on Our Gypsy Camp
7 / 8 / 14 on Goodreads
Leah Buckley rated it 4 out of 5 stars
7 / 5 / 14 on Read Her Like an Open Book
7 / 4 / 14 on Goodreads
Bill Wolfe rated it 4 out of 5 stars
6 / 19 / 14 on Goodreads
Peter Molin rated it 4 out of 5 stars
6 / 1 / 14 on Goodreads
Kkeym rated it 5 out of 5 stars
4 / 30 / 14 on Goodreads
Martha rated it 4 out of 5 stars
4 / 5 / 14 on Goodreads
Richard Taylor rated it 5 out of 5 stars
4 / 5 / 14 on Amazon
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a must read!, April 5, 2014
Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: Wife and War: The Memoir (Kindle Edition)
As an author who has written about love and war and coming home in Homeward Bound, I will state unequivocally that this is the best I’ve read. Flynn’s lyrical prose and poetry should be required and desired reading for all of us trying to survive. Five stars!

 

3 / 9 / 14 on Amazon

5.0 out of 5 stars Documenting Tragedy, March 9, 2014
This review is from: Wife and War: The Memoir (Paperback)
In the 5th Century, Thucydides documented a war that he believed surpassed all previous conflicts. When Homer wrote the Odyssey, he not only included the battles that Ulysess fought, but also Penelope’s life in his absence, and the events of his homecoming. So war, and its battles, those left behind to wait, and the difficulties of coming home have never ceased to occupy our thoughts, or the art we create. Amalie Flynn’s book, “Wife and War” is a brilliant, beautifully written continuation of this tradition, as well an attempt to remember and record our reactions to one of America’s great tragedies. Flynn was in lower Manhattan, on 9/11, a witness to the event. Her life went on; but in a way that never allowed her to truly distance herself from that day. Flynn left law school, taught at an Army base, married a soldier, who was then deployed to Afghanistan, and was left alone, as a young wife and mother. In a series of short prose poems that span a ten year period, Flynn attempts to understand and chronicle each “ripple” of the enormous tragedy that occured. “Wife and War” is much more than a musing on national tragedy; it is that, yes, but it’s also a love story, and a beautiful chronicle of suffering that contains, most importantly, confusion, anger, and frustration. No account of war would be complete without those emotions. The honesty of “Wife and War” is often shocking, there is not a cliche, pop-cuture psychology, facile phrase in the entire book. There is simply beautiful, spare, economical writing, full of emotion, yet always controlled, and always dignified. “Wife and War” is a work of such sincerity, such quality, that it succeeds in memorializes all the losses, of this tragic time in our history.
1 / 27 / 14 on Goodreads
Sheila Ochoterana rated it 4 out of 5 stars

 

1 / 25 / 14 on Amazon

5.0 out of 5 stars Amalie Flynn shares her personal journey in a way that will have you turning the pages quickly in order to know more.
January 25, 2014
Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: Wife and War: The Memoir (Kindle Edition)
Amalie Flynn is a beautiful writer. Her words are real. Her thoughts are profound. She takes you on a journey, her journey, one like no other. One that will allow you to learn more about what life is like as a military wife whose husband goes off to war. Whether you have a similar connection to life as a military wife (family member) or not…this book is a must read. Thank you, Amalie, for sharing your story.

 

12 / 11 / 13 on Amazon

5.0 out of 5 stars Deeply Moving, Beautifully Written. Amalie speaks the truth.
December 11, 2013
This review is from: Wife and War: The Memoir (Paperback)

Amalie’s poetry has been blowing my mind for years. I am a veteran of combat in both Iraq and Afghanistan, and her work consistently moves me at the deepest of levels. The talent that shines through so clearly in her poems is also clearly evident in her memoir. I read the whole thing in one sitting. There were several lines that stopped me dead in my tracks. The type of line where you just pause for a moment, re-read it, and think “Damn, that is such good writing.” I highly recommend this book. It is the type of work that stays with you long after you finish reading it.

 

12 / 10 / 13  Rebecca Forbes on Avenue Varietal

“From the opening pages of Amalie Flynn’s debut book, you are pulled in to its elegant intimacy. The fateful moments of September 11th unfold, Flynn’s words vividly capturing disbelief and awe in equal turn. After, in exploring her husband’s deployment and transition, she turns philosophical, endeavoring to understand his story as well as her own. This is Wife and War: the Memoir, Flynn’s intrepid lyrical memoir born out of two previous blog projects.” http://avenuevarietal.wordpress.com/2013/12/11/writing-in-poetic-prose-qa-with-author-amalie-flynn/

 

1 / 10 / 2014 on Goodreads

Suzanne Schroeder rated it 5 out of 5 stars

 

12 / 1 / 2013 on Goodreads

Sandra Shotwell rated it 5 out of 5 stars

 

10 / 16 / 13 on Goodreads

722845

Melissa‘s review

Oct 16, 13
Read in October, 2013
Flynn’s writing is somehow pure and honest — heart-achingly real — without being raw. In fact, the filtered, clean, truth of her writing is one of the qualities that puts Flynn in a very different category in my mind than the many military spouses out there who write.Almost seamlessly, Flynn’s poetry moves into narrative. As I read Wife and War: The Memoir, it was as if the book kept its own time. There was a smooth cadence to Flynn’s words; a lilt and flow that made the transitions between her poetry and her narratives nearly unnoticeable.Wife and War: The Memoir made it clear to me that Flynn is first a writer and second a writer who is married to a service member. She is no hack. No blogger calling herself a writer. Flynn is an artist of words who has been unlucky enough to not only experience 9/11, but to live in the post-9/11 military family reality of wars that don’t end when our warriors return home.I wouldn’t recommend this book to anyone; it is not a light or an easy read. I would absolutely recommend Wife and War: The Memoir to anyone who appreciates literary arts, or to anyone who wants to understand what it’s really like to send your husband off to war — and then to bring him back home.

 

10 / 16 / 13 on Goodreads

Melissa rated it 5 out of 5 stars

 

10 / 16 / 13 on Amazon

5.0 out of 5 stars Pure, Honest and Heart-Achingly Real, October 16, 2013
 

Flynn’s writing is somehow pure and honest — heart-achingly real — without being raw. In fact, the filtered, clean, truth of her writing is one of the qualities that puts Flynn in a very different category in my mind than the many military spouses out there who write. Almost seamlessly, Flynn’s poetry moves into narrative. As I read Wife and War: The Memoir, it was as if the book kept its own time. There was a smooth cadence to Flynn’s words; a lilt and flow that made the transitions between her poetry and her narratives nearly unnoticeable. Wife and War: The Memoir made it clear to me that Flynn is first a writer and second a writer who is married to a service member. She is no hack. No blogger calling herself a writer. Flynn is an artist of words who has been unlucky enough to not only experience 9/11, but to live in the post-9/11 military family reality of wars that don’t end when our warriors return home. I wouldn’t recommend this book to anyone; it is not a light or an easy read. I would absolutely recommend Wife and War: The Memoir to anyone who appreciates literary arts, or to anyone who wants to understand what it’s really like to send your husband off to war — and then to bring him back home.

 

10 / 15 / 13 on Marrying the Army

“Flynn’s writing is somehow pure and honest — heart-achingly real — without being raw.” Lovely review by Melissa of Marrying the Army – read more here  http://www.marryingthearmy.com/wife-and-war-the-memoir/

 

10 / 8 / 13 on Goodreads

Lori‘s review /

Oct 08, 13

5 of 5 stars

Amalie’s story and powerful prose have inspired me to continue my own writing. It takes courage, drive, and talent to accomplish what Amalie has in this beautiful memoir.

 

10 / 08 / 13 on Amazon

5.0 out of 5 stars A Poignant Look at the War That is Fought at Home, October 8, 2013
 Amazon Verified Purchase
This review is from: Wife and War: The Memoir (Paperback)
I have been a fan of Amalie Flynn’s blogs and was delighted to read her much anticipated memoir. It was one of those books that I refused to put down, and was quickly read in a mere couple of sittings. Her writing style is utterly unique and her written voice, so honest. I have not been affected in the same way by the attacks on 911 or the resulting war, but the struggles outlined in her work are so relateable. I really felt that I was in her shoes.It’s so easy to be removed from the continuous ill effects that war has on American families, but this book revealed so many things I had never been forced to think about. What happens when you are anti-war but you fall in love with a man in the Navy? How do you explain war to your young children? How do you have a normal marriage after your spouse has witnessed the unimaginable atrocities waged by war? This book, asks these questions, and so much more…A great first book, I look forward to reading more from her.

 

10 / 07 / 13 on Twitter

@amalieflynn Finished it this morning. Great read. Could feel the emotion.

 

10 / 03 / 13 on Twitter

@amalieflynn Reading it tonight … I can’t put it down! 9 / 30 / 13 on Chambanachik Blog “Many books are read for entertainment.  But some – a very few – matter.  Wife and War matters.  It’s a book I won’t soon forget.” Wonderful review by Erika Perez – military wife and blogger here http://chambanachik-live.blogspot.com/2013/09/wife-and-war-memoir-chambanachik-review.html 9 / 26 / 13 on Twitter erika ‏@chambanachik  Stayed up much too late last night, caught up in Wife & War. Just gorgeous. @amalieflynn 9 / 25 / 13 on Twitter Melissa Gilliam Shaw ‏@MilliGFunk 10% of the way into “Wife and War: The Memoir”, and completely captivated. Beautiful, @amalieflynn.

 

9 / 22 / 13 on Facebook

Mike Scotti
Congrats to Amalie Flynn on the publication of her excellent book WIFE AND WAR: THE MEMOIR. In my opinion, she has written something profound. Her prose reads like poetry and I lost count of the number of lines that blew me away. (many of them stopped me dead in my tracks). Nice work, Amalie!

 

 

9 / 26 / 13 on Goodreads

Melissa rated it 5 out of 5 stars

 

 

9 / 21 / 13 on Amazon

5.0 out of 5 stars A profoundly beautiful book, September 21, 2013
Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)

I first discovered Amalie Flynn’s poetry a few months before my husband returned from a yearlong tour of duty in Afghanistan. Reading her words I felt an instant jolt of recognition. Her poems made me feel less alone and helped me maintain my sanity in the welter of emotions that accompanied both the deployment and the homecoming. I was very excited to hear that she had published a memoir, and couldn’t wait to read it. I would recommend her work to anyone. This book powerfully expresses a reality that is seldom discussed — that our nation’s wars are not confined to the battlefield, but permeate life on the homefront in invisible ways. The constant fear and isolation that a deployment brings for the family left behind; the strange truth that “war is hard but coming home can be harder.” And in its aftermath, learning to cope with “that electric current of war, the subtle disturbances that war brings” Amalie Flynn has taken all of these experiences and transformed them into art. Read this book. You won’t be disappointed.

 

 

9 / 19 / 13    Andrew McCarthy on Twitter

.@amalieflynn new memoir, Wife and War is a powerful read. http://amzn.to/18cMBZV 

 

 

9 / 13 / 13     Review on Amazon

5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, September 13, 2013
Amazon Verified Purchase

I may need to come back to this review when I have some more time to absorb. Beautifully written and I highly recommend it. Whether you lived through a spouse in the war, watched the towers fall from two blocks away or on tv, this was a time filled with what ifs. This was reality. Thank you Amalie for sharing your story so openly.

 

 

9 / 13 / 13     Review on Goodreads

Wife and War by Amalie Flynn

Wife and War: The Memoir by Amalie Flynn (Goodreads Author)

 

 

9 / 12 / 13     Review on Amazon

5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful and poetic, September 12, 2013
This review is from: Wife and War: The Memoir (Paperback)

I started reading Wife and War and could not put it down. The rhythm of the narrative keeps you enthralled to the end like a mystery, all at once moving like rapids near the falls and at the same time freezing in time long enough to hear whispers. Amalie Flynn manages to pull you in this most intimate experience of the war and a soldier’s life all the while imparting some profound life lessons she learned along the way. She is a truly gifted writer and I highly recommend reading Wife and War!

 

9 / 9 / 13     Review by Barrington Books

“Flynn blends a mix of poetry and narrative to tell a deeply personal story that is at once evocative, beautiful, heartbreaking and hopeful.” http://thestudioatbb.com/readlocal/2013/09/09/amalie-flynn/

 

9 / 6 / 13     Review on Goodreads

Amy‘s review

Poignant and flowing. I felt like I was with her in her journey; dreamlike. Beautiful and strong.
So proud to call Amalie a dear friend.

 

9 / 2 / 13     Review from Barrington Books

Reading Amalie Flynn‘s “Wife and War, The Memoir” this evening, in advance of her book signing on September 11th. All we can say is: Wow. This is powerful, raw, and amazing. Mark your calendars. This is a book, and an event, not to be missed.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s